The West Yorkshire Archives Service

The West Yorkshire Archive Service (WYAS) is centred on the West Yorkshire History Centre (WYHC) in Wakefield which also houses the Wakefield Archive Service.

The WYHC holds some records relevant to the several parts of the modern West Yorkshire as well as the Wakefield Records. However, there are other branches of WYAS at Bradford, Halifax, Huddersfield and Leeds. Each of which which hold records relevant to their areas.

Useful Links - Home Page
Yorkshire Family History Societies
Other Useful sites
West Yorkshire Archives Service
Hints on using the WYAS Catalogue
WYAS Catalogue
Opening times and contact details  for the centres are available on their web sites:

Bradford Archive Service

Calderdale Archive Service (at Halifax)

Kirklees Archive Service ( Huddersfield)

Leeds Archive Service

West Yorkshire History Centre (Wakefield)

The archival collections held by West Yorkshire Archive Service in Wakefield are an unparalleled record of the history of the West Riding of Yorkshire and it’s communities from 1194 to the present day. WYAS, Wakefield is the third largest local authority archive in Great Britain comprising over 10 million documents. The shelving for all the collections would reach almost twice the height of Everest!

Many collections have national significance, among them the unique records of the pioneering Stanley Royd Mental Health Hospital, recently awarded international status as part of the UNESCO UK Memory of the World Register.

Other major collections that will be cared for at the centre are the unparalleled West Riding Registry of Deeds made up of 12,763 volumes containing 7 million extracts of property transactions from 1704 to 1970, as well as the massive National Coal Board collection of over 2000 boxes relating to collieries and coal miners in Wakefield and the south Leeds areas.